Major Changes—Changing My Major

Ever since junior high, I knew I wanted to teach English. My teachers encouraged me; my classmates expected it—I was already informally tutoring several of them. During my junior/senior years, while others scrambled to figure out their life plan, what they would do, where would they go, I was content in the fact I already had it figured out: I would go to Doane, major in English/Language Arts education, and in four years I would have a teaching job waiting for me, thanks to Doane’s 100% placement guarantee.

Freshman year was the same. While others were trying to pick a major, I knew exactly what my next four years would look like.

I was so excited at the beginning of my sophomore year: I got my first practicum placement. I would be spending five hours a week in a real-life seventh grade classroom teaching lessons and making observations. I absolutely loved my cooperating teacher and my students, and I was even more psyched about someday having my very own classroom.

That was the peak of my enthusiasm towards being an educator. Ever since then, my excitement has decreased steadily. I found myself dreading going to my placements, taking shortcuts on lessons and assignments, and even occasionally skipping my education classes.

Recently I’ve been putting a lot of thought into where I want to be in 10 years, and lately, it hasn’t been in a classroom. I just don’t see myself teaching anymore. So I gathered my courage, and changed my major and added two minors, with only three semesters left to make it all happen.

For the first time in almost ten years, I have no idea where I am going to end up. I am terrified, yet at the same time thrilled about the many possibilities that await me. All I know for sure is I want to write.

I received a variety of reactions from my friends and family when I told them the big news. Some of my friends have been super supportive, while others respond with, “But you would have been a great teacher!” My fellow education majors were bummed that I was leaving the program, and envious that I wouldn’t have to deal with the daily stress that it entailed.

My parents want me to stick with teaching since it’s the ‘safe’ route. I know if I stick with Education, be set for the rest of my life; everything laid out before me, a perfect plan. But that isn’t where my heart is, not anymore.

I have found passion in writing and editing, and I am psyched to see where this path will take me. I could end up in Lincoln, or New York City. I could be an editor for a publishing company, or a bestselling author.

I have no idea, and that is exhilarating.

As always, let me know what you think in Comments!!!

2 thoughts on “Major Changes—Changing My Major

  1. jboelhower says:

    I think that is awesome that you had the courage to follow your heart. The safe paths are so tempting to stay on. Enjoy the path, even if you can’t see past the turn ahead.

What do you think?

