Harry Potter, Politics, and High School Speech Meets

Yay! It’s my first My Life Monday! The day where I get to tell you more about me!!

Every day I spend the lunch hour sitting in the campus coffee shop in a circle of couches, surrounded by music and theatre majors.

Theatre (and music) kids, in my opinion, are the best friends you can have. I have found that they are about the most accepting, eclectic, and crazy people (on our campus, at least). Our conversations can range from normal, to philosophical, to ranting, to humorous, to alarmingly inappropriate and back again all in a span of five minutes or less.

Most of us have competed in high school speech, and many are judges now, so today we had a 20 minute discussion on what poems, programs, and scripts work in competitive speech, and which ones should just never see the light of day again. Meanwhile, I was crocheting on one couch while someone else was knitting. Several people were on tumblr and would occasionally interrupt someone to share a particularly funny gif with everyone. People left and people joined, but the flow of conversation never ceased.

And then suddenly we were on the topic of Harry Potter.

I  love that I have the type of friends that not only know exactly which Hogwarts House they are in, but can seriously discuss the pros and cons of each, then seamlessly shift into a friendly debate over the current American political system.

I never know what I’m going to hear in conversations. We are equally likely to discuss the thematic and symbolistic meaning behind a specific character in a play or novel as we would be to have a dead baby joke competition.

I love my lunch hours with my friends, because I know whatever I say or do I will be accepted.

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter, Politics, and High School Speech Meets

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I wish I had more friends who would talk hogwarts houses with me…

What do you think?

