Thankful Thursday (Sorta)

I know, I know. It’s not Thursday, but Thankful Friday just doesn’t have the same ring to it. Besides, this was supposed to be my Thursday post, but I got really busy then distracted then exhausted and next thing I know it is Friday morning and I am rushing to my practicum placement. But anyway, I promised to post three things I am thankful for each week, and here are this week’s:

#1 Kids who translate

I work at an after-school program at a local middle school. I teach a card game club and half of my kids speak little to no English. I am so thankful for one of my bilingual kids who translates everything I say for the others. It really makes my job easier.

 

#2 Doane Theatre

The Doane Theatre department is full of amazingly talented performers, scenic artists, and tech wizards. This combination results in some of the best theatre productions I’ve ever seen. Thursday night I had the privilege to see their performance of Mother Courage and Her Children, set in a futuristic post-apocalyptic war zone. It was FANTASTIC!

 

#3 I made it home safe

For the first time this year, it snowed. While we were in the nice, warm theatre, the road back to Lincoln was being coated with layers of snow and ice. I hate winter, but I am grateful I made it home.

What do you think?

