A Forgotten Poem

The other day I was browsing through the documents on my computer, and I came across this poem I wrote for a class freshman year. I believe we were discussing heroic couplets. I had completely forgotten about it.

Max

To get to my friend I walk across town,

And usually arrive as the sun goes down.

Even when I’m home there’s no guarantee,

That I have time for a walk, just him and me.

He peaks through the window as I walk to the door.

I have not seen him in a month or more.

He greets me with excitement! He jumps and whines,

As if saying, “Where have you been all this time?”

Though my life’s been hectic, I can finally relax,

On my walks around town with my dog Max.

What do you think?

