Bloodlines: A Book Review

Hey Everyone!

Sorry for my radio silence over the last few days. It was partly due to the fact that I was visiting family and was only sporadically around my laptop. Mostly though, it was because I have been reading.

I recently decided to reread one of my favorite series, Bloodlines, by Richelle Mead. Now before you ask, yes it is technically a vampire series, but is about so much more than that. (SIDE NOTE: It’s actually a spin-off series from Mead’s Vampire Academy series, the first of which is being made into a movie coming out in 2014.) 

The main character is Sydney Sage, a human raised in a secret society (Alchemists) dedicated to protecting the world from finding out about the ‘evil’ vampires. She is assigned a job that any other Alchemist would dread: living with a vampire princess in hiding and her half vampire body guards. Already on thin ice for getting ‘too close’ to vampires in the past, Sydney must find a balance between her job and her new friendships with her charges. She has to choose between what she has always been taught and what she is starting to see with her own eyes.

To top it all off, the job requires her to pose as a high school student which, since she was home-schooled her whole life, is a totally new experience for Sydney. Though she is acing her classes, she is way out of her league when it comes to teenage social interactions.

There are so many other great things about this series, but I don’t have the time to write it all here. (Plus I don’t want to spoil anything.) You’ll just have to read the books. 🙂

I own the first three books, Bloodlines, the Golden Lily, and the Indigo Spell, and I JUST found out the forth one, Fiery Heart is available. I hope to be adding that one to my shelf in the near future.

I definitely recommend this series to anyone interested in fantasy, mystery, romance, or action books.

3 thoughts on “Bloodlines: A Book Review

  1. This sounds really cool – I need to get into more vampire fiction.

  2. […] The fact that the fourth book in the Bloodlines series is out! Hopefully I can get it […]

What do you think?

