Free Write Friday: Stevie the Houseplant

Time for a another Free Write Friday!

Every week Jake and I pick a writing prompt from the book, 642 Things to Write About. We write for one hour and post the results. We have no idea what the other will write until we are done, so any similarities are entirely coincidental.

“A houseplant is dying. Tell it why it needs to live.”

Come on Stevie. Don’t die on me! I know we haven’t always seen eye to ey–  uh– leaf, but you can’t die. You bring life into this apartment. We’ve been through so much together, haven’t we? No? Well maybe you’re right. But if you won’t do it for me, do it for my roommate. She loves you like a son! She’s the one who gave you your name. I know she left on vacation, but that doesn’t change anything!

I’m sorry for the way I’ve treated you. I know I should have watered you more often, or like, at all, but here’s some water now! You’ll get better, right?

If you stay alive, I promise I will water you every day, and I won’t let the cat use your pot as a litter box anymore. I’ll even remember to open the blinds and let the sun in every now and then! I just need you to stay alive!

My roommate will be back tomorrow, and you can’t be dead. Just hold on til then, okay?

3 thoughts on “Free Write Friday: Stevie the Houseplant

  1. aces8s says:

    Feel free to post more. I’m all caught up.
    love ya

  2. […] a look at Emily’s post for another look at this […]

What do you think?

