Top 5 Reasons I Love My Job

I work at an after school program for middle-schoolers, and though I may complain about it I do really love my job. Here are just a few of the reasons why.

#5. Free food

We have this tradition, that whenever one of the clubs makes food, they make enough for the rest of the teachers. This results in anything from cookies, to pies, to pizza, which is great, even if they are sometimes questionably made. 🙂 We also occasionally do dinners for the kids, including a Thanksgiving Dinner which included turkey, stuffing, and all the trimmings for us and the kids.

#4. Good discussions

Last week I had a half hour discussion on the literary criticisms and qualifications of Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, and Twilight. I was talking to three 12-year-old girls. I never prouder of them than I was when they were able to give concise, well thought out reasons that Harry Potter is a much better book series than Twilight.

#3. It’s an excuse to be creative 

I usually run a craft club, and it has given me the opportunity to try out all of the projects I have pinned on my pinterest boards. 🙂 The coolest thing though, is how creative the kids are. I can give them the basic structure of a project, and they will take it in a totally different direction than I was thinking, and the finished product is way better than I could ever have imagined.

#2. I paid to act silly

One of my favorite things about my job is that I get to act like a middle-schooler. I get to play card games and foursquare, watch spongebob and Disney movies, and sing silly songs for absolutely no reason. AND I’m getting paid!

#1. Kids are honest 

The thing about working with kids is that they tend not to have a filter. At all. Though this can, and does, get them in trouble, I find it very refreshing. Whether it’s good (“You sing really good.”) or bad (“You were prettier before you dyed your hair. I don’t like it.”) you know what they are telling you the truth.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Reasons I Love My Job

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Sounds like an awesome job! Haha!

What do you think?

