A Work of Fiction…

For my final project in my Advanced Writing class, I am writing the first few chapters of my novel. I just finished the first page or so, and I wanted to know what you guys thought. Let me know in the comments!! 

I darted frantically around the room, grabbing various items of clothing and throwing them haphazardly into the duffel bag resting on my bed. Most of my things have been packed for weeks, but every time I turned around there was something else I may need at school. I triple-checked my bookshelves and pulled out a few more titles to take with me. I glanced around my room again, checking for anything I may have missed. It’s amazing really, how much stuff one can accumulate in ten years. I decided to leave most of my posters behind, all but the Breakfast Club. Most of my CDs were also staying, but my guitar definitely made the list. I hesitated for a moment before tossing my tarot cards and an old spell book into my bag. Now one last thing: the photo of my parents and me on my seventh birthday. It was taken a few weeks before their car accident. I reached up to where it was hanging on my wall, but I couldn’t quite reach it. Slowly the frame lifted off up its hook and floated down into my hand.

“You’re getting better at that Johanna,” Gran said from the doorway. “You remind me of your mother when she was your age. She was always zipping things about.” I looked at the photo in my hands. Aside from her sharp blue eyes and a smattering of freckles across her cheekbones, I didn’t see much resemblance. Mom was tall and beautiful; two things I’d never be.

“Just grabbing some last minute things,” I murmured, stowing the photo safely in the duffel bag on the bed.  “I don’t want to forget anything.”

“Byrne College is only a couple hours away, it’s not like you’ll never be back.” Gran pulled the clothes from my bag and began folding them properly.

I sighed. If I’d had my way, I’d be halfway to the coast by now. But Byrne College was the only school Gran would allow me to attend. In addition to being close to home, the dean was my great-aunt. For years, it has been a safe haven for people with power such as myself. By the time classes started on Monday, there would be more than forty young witches on campus, all of whom know my name, my family, and everything about me. The exact thing I wanted to avoid.

***

That’s all for now, stay tuned for more!!!

One thought on “A Work of Fiction…

  1. vikki says:

    This is good…….I want more!

What do you think?

